Medicinal Chemistry Faculty

Ryan Altman
Associate Professor
Malott Hall, Room 4046A

Professor Ryan A. Altman received his B.S. in chemistry from Creighton University in 2003 and his Ph.D. in organic Chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2008. He completed his training at the University of California, Irvine as a National Institutes of Health postdoctoral fellow from 2008–2011.

Associate Professor
Malott Hall, Room 4001

Associate Professor Apurba Dutta earned a Ph.D. from North-Eastern Hill University in Shillong, India in 1989 and was a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Konstanz in Germany from 1991-1992. He was also a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Kansas from 1993-1994.


Mark Farrell
Assistant Professor
Shankel Structural Biology Center
Professor, Interim Chair of Medicinal Chemistry
Malott Hall, Room 4048

Robert Hanzlik earned his B.A. in chemistry and biology from Southern Illinois University, and completed his Ph.D. in organic chemistry at Stanford University.

Regents Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
Shankel Structural Biology Center, Room 1045

Distinguished Professor Blake Peterson earned a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Nevada, Reno and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, Los Angeles. He was a Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell Cancer Research Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow at Harvard University from 1995-1998, an American Cancer Society Research Scholar in 2003, and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar in 2003.


Thomas Prisinzano
Shankel Structural Biology Center, Room 2070

Dr. Thomas Prisinzano earned a bachelor’s in chemistry from the University of Delaware and a doctorate in pharmaceutical sciences from Virginia Commonwealth University. He received postdoctoral training at the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Md.

Barbara Timmermann
University Distinguished Professor
Malott Hall, Room 4004

Distinguished Professor Barbara Timmermann joined the School of Pharmacy faculty as chair of the Department of Medicinal Chemistry in August of 2005. She came to KU after an academic career of close to 25 years at the University of Arizona, where she attained the title of Regents Professor.


Michael S. Wolfe
Mathias P. Mertes Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
Malott Hall, Room 4040A

Michael Wolfe earned a B.S. in chemistry from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science and a Ph.D. in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Kansas.  After a postdoctoral stint at the University of Kansas, he was a Pharmacology Research Associate Trainee (PRAT Fellow) at the National Institutes of Health.

Lecturer/PharmD Research Advisor
School of Pharmacy Building, Room 3014

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU