• Home
  • Admission
  • Financial Aid & Scholarships
  • Matchett Award

The Jeremy A. Matchett Excellence in Pharmacy Award

The Jeremy A. Matchett Excellence in Pharmacy Award is presented to a P3 student or students at the school's annual White Coat Ceremony.

The award was established by the Matchett family in 2005, in memory of Dr. Matchett, who served KU for 31 years, including 22 years as a professor and 16 years as associate dean of the pharmacy school. Dr. Matchett died in October of 2003.

Award Criteria

  • Be a currently-enrolled P3 (third year) KU Pharmacy student in good academic standing.
  • A demonstrated excellence in academic achievement to include critical technical thinking, questioning, appetite for continued learning, objectivity, honesty, integrity, and the highest of ethical standards.
  • A genuine, compassionate and unselfish attitude to effectively serve patients, colleagues and the art of pharmacy in trying to “make things better.”
  • Personal enthusiasm, initiative, and drive for the pursuit of the practice of professional pharmacy.

Full Description

Matchett Excellence in Pharmacy Award - Full Description (pdf)

Additional Information

For more information, contact the KU School of Pharmacy

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU