The APhA-ASP is the largest pharmacy student organization, with more than 30,000 members. APhA encompasses pharmacists from all specialties within the profession, including health-system, research, ambulatory care, community, and many more. Membership in APhA-ASP will allow networking with fellow students and pharmacists in many practice areas, nationwide.

The mission of the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy.

Contact: John Rosa (KU APhA-ASP President)

Officers & Advisors


Title Name
President John Rosa
President Elect Brandon True
VP Patient Care Alli Florack
VP Membership Tyler Burkett
Secretary Tessa Schnelle
VP Finance Jamison Montes De Oca
VP Communication Nathan Jones
VP Policy Kristen Farnet
VP Wichita Affairs Laura Velazquez
VP Wichita Patient Care Jordanne Adolphsen


Jessica Bates
Joe Heidrick
Robert Emerson

Contact Advisor
2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to needy Kansans during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU